Latest news

Appointment of New Fellows

12th June 2009

The Centre is delighted to announce the appointment of twelve new Fellows of the Centre. Academics, both from the sciences as well as the humanities, who are researching or intending to research in the field are eligible for consideration. Under the rules, appointment is offered only once to successful individuals within their lifetime, and appointment is by invitation or nomination only. Only a small proportion of those nominated are eventually selected. The process of selection is rigorous, painstaking, and frequently lengthy, and individuals appointed have to have made (or be capable of making) an outstanding contribution to the field.

The new Fellows are:

Dr Nicola Hoggard Creegan, PhD (Laidlaw College, Auckland), Fellow
Lauren Corman (Brock University), Associate Fellow
Dr Jan Deckers, PhD (University of Newcastle), Fellow
Professor Robert Garner, PhD (University of Leicester), Fellow
Professor Lisa Johnson, JD (University of Puget Sound), Fellow
Andrew Knight, MRCVS (Griffith University), Fellow
Professor Randy Malamud, PhD (Georgia State University), Fellow
Christopher Nathan (University of Exeter), Associate Fellow
Dr Anat Pick, PhD (University of East London), Fellow
Professor Kurt Remele, PhD (University of Graz), Fellow
Carl Saucier-Bouffard (Dawson College, Montreal), Associate Fellow
Professor John Simons, PhD, FRSA (University of Lincoln), Fellow

“All these individuals are pioneering new work in Animal Ethics – helping to press he envelope in terms of new thinking”, said Director of the Centre, Professor Andrew Linzey. The Centre extends its warmest congratulations to the successful individuals. Their biographies can be viewed here.