Oxford University Animal Ethics Society

The Animal Ethics Society is an official Oxford University Society. It aims to provide a forum for the discussion of the moral status of animals. The Society works closely with the Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics, which pioneers ethical perspectives on animals through academic research, teaching, and publication. Membership is free, and open to all members of Oxford University and Fellows of the Centre.

Officers of the Animal Ethics Society, 2020-2021

President: Mary Whittingdale (BA in Theology and Religion, Mansfield College)
Secretary: Jonathan Howes (DPhil in Physics, Merton College)
Treasurer: Dario Cowdery (BA in Theology and Religion, Mansfield College)
Vice President: Jacob Brandler (DPhil in History, Linacre College)
Vice President: David Holroyd (BA in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics, Hertford College)
Vice President: Noah Wescombe (MPhil Socio-Legal Research, St Catherine’s College)
Senior Member: Dr Katherine Morris (Mansfield College)
Emeritus Senior Member: Professor Andrew Linzey (Director, Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics)
Organising Member: Clair Linzey (Deputy Director, Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics)

Honorary Members:

Jenny Meszaros (St Hilda’s, 2004-8)
Sarah Harden (University College, 2006-2012)
Alastair Harden (Christ Church, 2006-2008)
Alan LeCras (Magdalen, 2006-2009)
Maximilian Padden Elder (Mansfield, 2011-2012)
Cyril Wohrer (Wolfson, 2011-2012)
Ionut Moise (Wolfson, 2012-2018)
Robert Lazo (Mansfield 2013-2014)
Justin Begley (University College, 2013-2017)
Rachel Wechsler (Green Templeton College, 2013-2019)
Juliane Beck (St Antony’s College, 2013-2015)
Adam Bridgen (Linacre College, 2013-2020)
Jennifer Clements (St John’s College, 2013-2016)
Kelsi Nagy (St Antony’s College, 2013-2020)
Grace Young (Somerville College, 2014-2018)
Harshmeena Sanghani (New College, 2014-2018)
Tobias Thornes (Oriel College, 2013-2018)
Katie Javanaud (Keble College, 2013-2019)
Jade Cormack (Merton College, 2015-2018)
Isabel Barber (The Queen’s College, 2016-2019)
Cristina Conde Tkatchenko (Merton College, 2015-2019)
Kaitlyn Abrams (St. Catherine’s College, 2017-2018)
Daniel Evans (Kellogg College, 2017-2018)
Felix Taylor (St. Hugh’s College, 2017-)
Sarah Robinson (Wadham College, 2018-)
Jan Steinebrunner (St John’s College, 2018-)
Rivers Gambrell (Kellogg College, 2015-2020)
Vincent Jordan (Christ Church, 2018-)
Ewan Lynch (Brasenose College, 2018-)
Natalie Hill (Balliol College, 2015-)
Katarzyna Jaroszewicz (Merton College, 2017-)
Emile Okada (Balliol College, 2018-)

The Society is running the Vegetarian Norrington Table. We are inviting members of the University, both students and staff, to rate colleges and halls, and to make comments on the quality of current vegetarian and vegan provision. Voting opens on the first day of 1st Week of Trinity Term, 2019, and closes at the end of 7th Week of Michaelmas Term 2019. The results of the voting will be published in 8th Week of Michaelmas Term, 2019. You can vote here.

The inagural table took place in Michaelmas 2016.  See the press release with the results here. Members of the University were invited to vote for the best and worst vegetarian and vegan food in University of Oxford colleges and halls.  To see the full rankings, as well as anonymised comments, and responses from bursars see here.

Michaelmas Term 2021

Forthcoming Meetings:

We hope meetings will be held in-person at the Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics, 91 Iffley Road, Oxford (opposite the University Sports Centre), if circumstances change they will be over zoom.

These are informal meetings with drinks and nibbles.

For more information about the Society please see our Frequently Asked Questions.

Join us at Freshers’ Fair
Wednesday 6 – Thursday 7 October in University Parks

Week 2: Monday 18 October: 8pm
Presentation by Professor Andrew Linzey (Emeritus Senior Member) and Dr Clair Linzey (Organising Member) on Bringing Animal Ethics into Any Discipline

Week 4: Monday 1 November: 8pm
Presentation by Jacob Brandler (Vice President) on Do “Animals” Have Histor(ies) and Can/Should Humans Interpret Them?

Week 6: Monday 15 November: 8pm
Presentation by Mary Whittingdale (President) on Animal Ethics in Conversation with Eco-Feminist Theology

Week 8: Monday 29 November – Friday 3 December 2021
End of term dinner
Details to be confirmed

Membership is free and open to all members of the University. For more information, please contact Clair Linzey at depdirector@oxfordanimalethics.com.

For information on previous years’ society meetings please see here.