Latest news

Appointment of New Fellows

9th July 2012

The Centre is delighted to announce the appointment of fourteen new Fellows of the Centre. Academics, both from the sciences as well as the humanities, who are researching or intending to research in the field are eligible for consideration. Under the rules, appointment is offered only once to successful individuals within their lifetime, and appointment is by invitation or nomination only. Only a small proportion of those nominated are eventually selected. The process of selection is rigorous, painstaking, and frequently lengthy, and individuals appointed have to have made (or be capable of making) an outstanding contribution to the field.

The new Fellows are:

  • Professor Ralph R. Acampora (Hofstra University), Fellow
  • Professor Piers Beirne (University of Southern Maine), Fellow
  • Leonardo Caffo (University of Turin), Associate Fellow
  • Professor Grace Clement (Salisbury University), Fellow
  • Rainer Ebert (Rice University), Associate Fellow
  • Maximilian P. Elder (Kenyon College, Ohio), Associate Fellow
  • Professor Chien-hui Li (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan), Fellow
  • Ryan Patrick McLaughlin (Duquesne University), Associate Fellow
  • Dr Randall Lockwood (ASPCA), Fellow
  • Clare McCausland (University of Melbourne), Associate Fellow
  • Dr Kay Peggs (University of Portsmouth), Fellow
  • Dena Pezet (Barrister), Associate Fellow
  • Bill Leon Smith (College of William and Mary), Associate Fellow
  • Cyril Wohrer (University of Oxford), Associate Fellow

“All these individuals are pioneering new work in Animal Ethics – helping to press he envelope in terms of new thinking”, said Director of the Centre, Professor Andrew Linzey. The Centre extends its warmest congratulations to the successful individuals. Their biographies can be viewed here.